RSS Feed

Fifty Shades Of Another One Jumps On The Money Go Round

No not that book but another one

Tootling around the ‘Net I was rather perturbed to come across this news article ’50 Ways to Play: BDSM for Nice People’ by Debra and Don Macleod – USATODAY.com. Obviously this book is trying to make some cash from the Fifty Shades Of Grey phenomenon. I had not heard of the two authors, Debra and Don Macleod  and so I did a little internet searching, to find out a little about them. Although they have written some other sex advice and titillation books, I could find no evidence that they are regular BDSM practitioners or had any long term experience of such things.

The idea that two inexperienced people, inspired by Fifty Shades Of Grey, should try a little kinky play, based on advice from a book that was written by two people who show no credentials of being competent in this field, just sounds stupid and potentially dangerous to me.

I don’t want to preach to the regular pain playing folk about safety but just in case there are some newbies reading this post, there are a lot of “How To” books about, written by people who have been doing this for a long time and know what they are talking about. So buy one of those books, not the “This looks like an easy way to make cash” type of books, that have piggy backed on the success of Fifty Shades Of Grey. My personal recommendation for a safe and easy to follow introduction to kinky play is below.

Don’t buy that book, buy this book

It is a good, informative and safe guide to the do’s and don’ts of kinky play and is easy to follow as well as being easy to dip into as a regular reference. You can get it here Amazon.com: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns here Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns Amazon.co.uk.

Note – I am not making any money or getting any other gain from promoting this title, I just want newcomers to be able to learn how to play well and safe.

——

Has anyone read this new guide? Is it as bad as I suspect it may be?

Prefectdt

4 responses »

  1. I just wanted to add my own endorsement for Screw the Roses – read it many eons ago – and if memory serves me right – the authors even had a sense of humour…….

    Reply
    • Yes a very good sense of humour and a lot of just plane good sense. I still dip into it now and again for this that and the other. As far as kinky play goes, it is the most worthwhile book I ever purchased. Some of the photos are not as good as they could be but nothing is perfect.

      Prefectdt

      Reply
  2. I saw the first book when we were shopping for a birthday gift for a vanilla relative of Ron’s. I showed him the table of contents and pointed to the chapter on spanking. He laughed.

    As we walked in the door of the bookshop, the first thing we saw was a huge display of 50 Shades books. He looked at them and said, “Not that one.”

    Hugs,
    Hermione

    Reply

Leave a Reply

