TUESDAY’S TANTALIZING TUSHY – AND I WISH THE CURRENT SITUATION LOOKED AS GOOD AS THIS WEEK’S TUSHY

I Want To Take Up Skiing Again

The Current Situation With COVID-19 In Belgium

Due to time availability issues, I am writing this post on Sunday 28th of November, so be aware that some of the following information might be slightly out of date, as you get to see it

Worryingly, the Omicron variant of the virus has made it to Belgium already. Only one confirmed case so far, but it was found in someone who had travelled from Egypt and not Southern Africa. This makes it more worrying. European Authorities have issued information about this and drug companies are already looking into this variant, as can be seen in the following two links

ECDC ISSUES THREAT ASSESSMENT OF OMICRON VARIANT

DRUG COMPANIES LOOK FOR SOLUTION TO THE NEW VARIANT

The situation in Belgium now

Infection rates are at the highest that they have ever been at, over 15000 per day on average, but thankfully death rates are not in the hundreds, as they were during previous waves of infection and are about 37 per day, as I write this. You can see more about the figures in the following link

CORONAVIRUS FIGURES FOR BELGIUM

The last available infection map of Europe is looking decidedly red

New Measures Introduced In Belgium

You can see these through the following links

NEW CORONAVIRUS RESTRICTIONS

COVID-19 SCHOOLS

Christmas?

GHENT CANCELS CHRISTMAS

ANTWERP CANCELS CHRISTMAS

It’s not all bad news

LIVES SAVED BY VACCINATION

VACCINE BOOSTER ROLLOUT IN BELGIUM

And that is all I have for now

My mood video for this post

Prefectdt

12 responses

  1. That is some ‘ski bunny’ Prefectdt……. but how does she not freeze her bits off??? ugh I’m shivering just looking at it…

    As for the covid news…….. it seems to be getting worse everywhere…… up and down up and down… Wave is a good way to describe it ………… you stay safe!!

  2. I read one of the links and found the reporting as ominously superficial as anything here in the US. I think when I get some time today I’m actually going to see if I can find a science article on the mutations in this variant.

    The thing that no one is talking about is what omicron means for the future. If you have a virus mutate to a point of accumulated traits from previous variations that render it more transmissible, more resistant to treatment, and immune to current vaccination, even if it is also mild in effect and symptoms, all you need is one more mutation into a deadlier form to make this akin to the plague in the 13th century. And when you spread fast and globally, the chances of that mutation occurring increase.

    Meaning, it’s deceptively comforting to think that just because omicron is itself not seemingly deadly, we have nothing major to worry about even if it is highly contagious and resistant.

    • The sample that the first studied Omicron variant was taken on the 9th of November. But it was not identified and recognized until the 24th of November, KD. That is 6 days ago, as I type this reply. I think that even the most knowledgable of the knowledgable of people, will not have had time to make a definitive assessment of the consequences of this variant yet. And also, probably, not enough time to write a competent, fact based science article. This disease is moving so fast, that a lot of the time the most competent information available, will be “Best educated guess”

      Prefectdt

  3. Cute ski bunny. Never seem to see them when I go skiing. Glad to know you will be getting a booster soon. Worrisome to read what is happening in Europe. Agree with what Kd says, the future is truly unknown.
    bottoms up
    Red

  4. Hi Prefectdt, love the ski bunny too, but man it makes me feel cold!

    Sorry to hear about the covid news. It seems to be resurging everywhere and will only get worse with Christmas coming up. These new variants are a worry.

    Hugs
    Roz

  5. This new variant has us all in anxious mode here too, Pref. It really is very worrying.
    Stay safe. And that tush IS perfection!

  6. The many reasons I gave up skiing included too many layers, heavy boots with awkward to carry equipment and overall too much trouble. Not to mention that the ski bunnies never dressed this accessibly.

    As far as the latest Covid variant…We are still on this ride for awhile yet and we are heading for another incline, best thing to do is hold on tight with a fresh dose of positive thinking, preparation and action going a long way.
    Stay safe.

  7. When I used to ski, Enzo, in my younger days, I was usually too drunk to notice the inconveniences 🙂 I had my best three New Years on ski vacations. I wonder what it is like to ski sober 🙂

    I have to admit that I am finding it hard to stay positive. My plans to see my family, for the first time in two years, just hit an Omicron brick wall. I was so looking forward to Christmas this year and now it will probably be another one alone

    Prefectdt